As times get rough and our people feel the struggle becoming too much, who do we turn to?  Many times we turn to objects to make us forget or people who will give us a temporary pleasure. When that is over, then what? We hurt the ones we love the most. Sometimes unintentional other times very much intentional. Perhaps, like me, you have been hurt within your marriage. Your spouse abandoned you, committed adultery, physically abused you/your child(ren) and the pain still hurts. It’s a stabbing pain in your heart and gut that screams out inside for a cure. Let me start by saying, there is no man-made cure for this. No not one.

When my husband left I heard it all. You need to move on. He wasn’t worth your time or your tears. Maybe you need to get on antidepressants. When what I really wanted was for someone to allow me to share my feelings, even if they had heard the same thing from me 20 times. For them, there was no emotional attachment to him. For me, I relived it daily. The pain was so great that I literally got on my knees daily begging God to relieve it and show mercy to me and my family, a reverent behavior for a Christian, but it’s worthy to be in obedience to the word of God and humble ourselves to glorify God.

I knew the day would come to show mercy to him and ask God to show me how to forgive him. I wanted to forgive him, not for his sake, but for my own. I wanted to keep Gods commandments and forgiveness is one of them.

Matthew 6:14 For if you  forgive others their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you  (attitude: forgive because you love the Lord)

 

My God is a merciful God and was patient with me throughout the process as I need the time to heal. God spent many nights with me as I cried my heart to Him and somewhere along the line I fell in Love with my God. When I did, forgiveness came easily and my heart moved on to pursue a “Personal fellowship” with Jesus Christ my savior.

Matthew 11:28-30 “… Come to  me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke  upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will  find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Forgiveness is Gods gift to you and me. I pray that you will resolve your differences tonight, so that you may wake in the light tomorrow.

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

