I once heard the phrase, God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called. However, I struggle with that thinking why would you want someone like me Lord? The world is full of believers and non-believers, who believe you should just do the mundane and to continue doing only what is expected. You are not worthy. You are not called and at times you are crazy. I heard it from my ex, my family members and my friends.

When I changed my email address to fourlifejesus, a member of my family looked at me in disgust and said, “Why did you pick that?”. I was taken back by that question. Why not? If you love the Lord with all your heart, then why wouldn’t you? Why wouldn’t He call you to serve Him? Why wouldn’t He use you to do something for the glory of His Kingdom? Why, because you are not perfect? Was Paul perfect? I think you know the answer to that question. No, he was not. In fact he was a murderer of Christians.

Act 22:4 And I persecuted this way unto the death, binding and delivering into prisons both men and women.  Here he talks about persecuting the followers. Co 15:9  For I am the least of the apostles, that am not meet to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. 

Lately, I have felt God has been quite and reserved when speaking to me. As if He was waiting for something, perhaps from me. Well, once I figured out what it was and cleared the air, He began speaking loud and clear. First through dreams and then through people and His word.

 

Yesterday, I phoned my Grandmother to see if she could do my hair for me 😉 and she invited me and my children to VBS at her church. Now taking you back a few weeks, I had to drive downtown, a very poor area, for my surgery (The reason for so few entries this month) and I asked God to put me in the areas that needed Him most and I wanted to serve Him in the poor areas like He did while He walked this earth. Going back to my Grandmother, her church is in one of these areas and even though she moved out of this area over a decade ago, she still faithfully attends her home church.

 

Well, I took the normal route to get there and found that the construction she spoke of had actually taken off my exit and the following three, which took me out of my way. I got off and was going to just get back on the other side (That side was open) but God said “Nah.. Elisabeth go right and just figure it out along the way. You know I will keep you safe.” So, I did and I am glad that I did. I found the road the church was on and turned to go down it. Further down that road was a man pushing his red grocery cart. I knew when I saw him that Gods plan was to use me in some way for that man so I drove past him. I didn’t know what to say or what God wanted me to say. I drove around the block and spoke to God.

I asked Him what was I supposed to say to this man. God: “Do you not think that I will give you the words. I want you to give him all of my money in your purse.” Me: “But God, I need to know what I should say to him as my words cannot me mine, but yours.” Then God spoke to me what was to be said.

My hand went out the window to a very shocked black man. I don’t think he was used to people speaking to him let along a white girl driving up to give him money, but I handed him the money and said what I was commanded to say to him. “God told me to give this to you.” He said, “huh? He did?” I said “yes sir. He also wanted me to tell you this from Him; “I hear you.”  Now I haven’t the foggiest what God was referring to but that is for God to work on within that mans heart. Here he stood, a grown man living (Hopefully not homeless) downtown and God has brought him to his knees before Him. His eyes welled up with tears and he said stuttering;  “Thank you. I just don’t know what to say this.”

So I told him that if he will lean on God, God is telling him that he will take care of what ever it is that is a burden. I thought the man might burst out in tears at this point. His lip was quivering and his eyes were almost about to spill over with tears.

So I got his name, even though I knew it beforehand, and told him that I would be praying for him and he said, you know, this may very well indeed be the sign I was waiting for.

After that I went on to VBS with my children and we had a wonderful time with people who truly seem open to serving God. All-in-all the day was a gift from God and I pray He will use me again, and you also.

 

The moral of the story:

I am a nobody, my friend, but to God, I am a somebody. He will only use the willing and the willing are those who have nothing to lose. If you place God first in your life, God will take care of your family and loved ones so that you can focus on your work for Him. He will raise you up to be the man or woman he wants you to be, regardless for your past life. It is a daily struggle but seek Him daily and he will draw closer to you.

Leave a Reply

