Amish bread is AWESOME and for  Preppers and those with serious reactions to milk product,

this is the bread for you. I make this daily and my kids would rather eat this than junk food.

That spoke volumes to me so I decided to begin making other things as well. Check back often for

updates on our Recipes department.

 

To give you an example, here are a few ingrediants in store bought bread:

high fructose corn syrup

guar gum

sodium stearoyl lactylate

ethoxylated mono and diglycerides

thiamin hydrochloride

monocalcium phosphate

 

Here are the ingrediants of Amish bread:

Water

Salt

Yeast

Flour

Sugar

Oil

 

Yup! Thats it!

Okay, here is how you make it and some pictures for you. Hope you enjoy this as much as we do.

 

 

Ingredients

2 cupswarm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)

2/3 cupwhite sugar

1 1/2 tablespoonsactive dry yeast (Best yeast I have found is at Sams. Fluffy loafs)

1 1/2 teaspoonssalt

1/4 cupvegetable oil

6 cupsbread flour

Yeilds 2 loafs or 1 loaf and 6 biskets

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, dissolve the sugar in warm water, and then stir in yeast. Allow to proof until yeast resembles a creamy foam.
  2. Mix salt and oil into the yeast. Mix in flour one cup at a time. Knead dough on a lightly floured surface until smooth. Place in a well oiled bowl, and turn dough to coat. Cover with a damp cloth. Allow to rise until doubled in bulk, about 1 hour.
  3. Punch dough down. Knead for a few minutes, and divide in half. Shape into loaves, and place into two well oiled 9×5 inch loaf pans. Allow to rise for 30 minutes, or until dough has risen 1 inch above pans.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 minutes.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/amish-white-bread/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=amish%20bread&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe

 

Let me tell you, it is to DIE for! Yummy and you will never buy another loaf again!

Comments
  1. Sandy W. says:

    The only thing I did was add another 1/2 tablespoon of yeast. It was really good bread and nothing like the stores stuff.

  2. Bryon Ginn says:

    I just madr this and it is AWESOME! Thanks!

  3. Vince M says:

    Okay, I made it and when I went to punch it down, my bread had already fallen. Whats wrong here?

  4. Werp M says:

    I think this is a powerfull blog with a lot interesting posts. And i just wanna say thnx for this. I’ll subscribe to your website to see if you post more stuff like these!

  5. Amanda says:

    You have a great blog going on. I’ll have to try it. Im not much of a cook so do you think it will be hard for me?

  6. Yolanda says:

    I just made this bread and I have to say, it is the best bread I have ever had in my LIFE! Thank you for posting

Leave a Reply

